It's…Something!

I skipped Write Something Wednesday. Sorry, but hope this makes up for it.

If you’re reading this, I will assume you aware of the fact that I am an aspiring fiction author. I recently completed my first piece of any real length, which also happens to be the first piece that I’ve ever sought to publish. If not, then, well…now you know. Check out the “WIPs” link at the top of the sidebar for more info.

Months of writing, revising, and polishing took place, followed by the crafting of a synopsis and query letter that had the best chance of selling my work to a gatekeeper in the publishing world. I finally sent off my first hesitantly hopeful email queries a few weeks ago, expecting swift and brutal form letter rejections. Then, this morning, something miraculous appeared in my email inbox: A reply!

Someone thought enough of me and my writing to personally write an email! This alone would have me over the moon, but it gets better. Not only is it not a form rejection, it’s not a rejection!

I am pleased to announce that the first ever response to my first  ever query letter is…

A “revise and resubmit” request!

I know, it’s not as good as a gushing “your novella is so perfect, we want to buy it and love it and cuddle with it and publish it in hardback with no editing whatsoever!” response, but an R+R is a big deal in my book.

And so with the prospect of more slashing, burning, and cutting of my baby in order to rebuild it stronger and better than before, I will rejoice. Join me in my happy dance (really, don’t be shy ;)

 

2 thoughts on “It's…Something!

Leave a Reply

